Page Links

Home      About      Reviews      Contact     

12 August 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I'm Not Sure I Want to Read

'Top Ten Tuesday' is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. I love making lists, so this feature fits me perfectly! If you also take part in this feature or have any additions to my lists, please get in touch; I'd love to hear from you!
 
 
Top Ten Books I'm Not Sure I Want to Read

Today's Top Ten Tuesday list consists of books I'm not sure I want to read. There are always books everyone is talking about, or books you receive as a gift from someone, or books you pick up because they were on sale, and later on you start to doubt whether you actually really want to read the book or not. I think this week's top 10 is a great way to have a look at those specific books, and perhaps some of you will be able to convince me of definitely giving them a try; so do leave a comment if you have the time! :)



1. J.K. Rowling - 'The Casual Vacancy'



I'm a big fan of the Harry Potter books, but somehow I never picked up J.K. Rowling's next novel, 'The Casual Vacancy.' On the one hand I just know her writing is amazing, so I should enjoy this novel, but I've read many negative reviews and now I'm kind of afraid I won't love the novel as much as I love her other work.




2. John Green - 'The Fault in Our Stars'



'The Fault in our Stars' is one of those books simply everyone seems to be talking about this year. I haven't read any of John Green's works and I'm also kind of afraid of picking up this one. I think it won't be able to live up to the hype, and I'm afraid it will be a really depressing read and I definitely prefer more happy/upbeat books.




3. Leo Tolstoy - 'War and Peace'



I used to be a Literature student and thankfully I have managed to avoid reading 'War and Peace' so far. However, it is a classic and I do think it's important to give the classics at least a try... Is it weird that I'm perhaps even a little bit afraid of this book?! 




4. J.R.R. Tolkien - 'The Lord of the Rings'



I really enjoyed the film adaptation of 'The Lord of the Rings' and I think it's a wonderful story. However, I never managed to read the novels. I tried the first 10 pages once, but I got stuck and just really didn't enjoy it, and never tried again. However, occassionally, I think I have to give the books a second chance, but so far I haven't picked them up yet...




5. Kiera Cass - 'The Selection'



The first time I saw the cover and read the blurb of 'The Selection', I immediately added the book to my wishlist. However, I've read some incredibly bad reviews of the book and now I have my doubts about whether I should buy it and give it a chance or not.




6. Helen Fielding - 'Mad About the Boy (Bridget Jones #3)'



I'm sure the ones of you who are familiar with the Bridgit Jones series and have read the spoilers of the third book will know why I am not sure I want to read this. I can't believe Helen Fielding decided to do what she did, and I'm just not sure whether I will be able to enjoy the story!



7. Cassandra Clare - 'City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)'



I've heard that the Mortal Instruments series is a must-read for fans of 'Twilight' and 'The Hunger Games', book series which I loved. However, I am not quite certain about this one. I don't know why, but somehow it doesn't really appeal to me. Anyone who can convince me?




8. Jonas Jonasson - 'The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared'



Another book I see everywhere and lots of people are so incredibly enthusiastic about. Am I the only one who just isn't really excited about it...?




9. Alice Sebold - 'The Lovely Bones'



Another book on this list which lots of people loved and a book that has received so many positive reviews. I have a copy of it, but I haven't picked it up yet, even though I bought it several years ago.




10. Lauren Conrad - 'The Fame Game'



I know many people don't really see Lauren Conrad as a real author, but whatever people say, I really enjoyed her 'L.A. Candy' book series. This is also the reason why I bought the books in her other series, starting with 'The Fame Game.' However, somehow I haven't picked up the book yet and I'm not quite sure whether I will.

Which books are you not sure you want to read? I'd love to hear from you! 

8 comments:

  1. City of Bones made my list too. And even I'm a bit confused about The Selection and Casual Vacancy. Here's my TTT

    ReplyDelete
  2. I started to read The Lovely Bones when it first came out (I think I was in HS) and every.one. was raving about it. But for me, I just couldn't get through it. Maybe I should try it one more time as an adult...

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree with you On TFIOS and The Selection totally! I picked up Lovely Bones 2 yrs ago and still haven't read it either. I just know its sad and I don't like reading sad books. I actually just started City of Bones and the first few chapters were ok at best but since I hit like chapter 4 I haven't stopped reading and Im on page 395. The book goes fast and I am so excited for the next one already!

    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  4. I feel exactly the same way about War and Peace, and really all Russian lit. I need to get over my fear, but it's scary!
    I've read The Mortal Instruments Series. I really like the first three books, and the prequels are worth reading, but I would stop after that. I'm sucked in and have to find out what happens, but the second series...it's horrible. Still, the story is fun.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love your list, we have similar taste in books we aren't sure about! The Fault in Our Stars, The Mortal Instruments and the 100 Year Old Man... are all books I feel like I should read but I haven't been swept up in the hype! I have tried to read LOTR and War and Peace and couldn't get into either. I do recommend The Casual Vacancy though- i thought it was brilliant! I also think you should give The Lovely Bones a go. It is quite beautiful even though it is so sad.

    ReplyDelete
  6. You definitely should give a chance to City of Bones!
    Also, the first pages of the Lord of the Ring are pretty boring, but it gets better after that, I promise. I recommend skimming the first hundred pages or so - until they are out of the Shire, and start reading properly after that.
    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  7. So, The Selection is pretty much as terrible as the bad reviews say it is. HOWEVER, I felt compelled to read all three books. That rarely happens. When I don't like something, I don't push through to the end and I certainly don't get the next in the series. And yet...I found myself needing to see it through to the end. As for City of Bones, I think if it doesn't appeal to you, skip it. I liked the first couple, hated the middle couple (I was pretty ticked that she stretched a trilogy into a gazzillion books), and felt like invested so much time, I may as well finish the last two. The final book is a monster, 700+ pages and I still haven't read it. If you were hoping for someone to sell you on them, I apologize! I could not get into Casual Vacancy, but really enjoyed The Cuckoo's Calling. As for John Green, I am one of the few people who is not a fan. Not my cup of tea, as they say. Here are my picks http://wp.me/pzUn5-26o
    ~Megan

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Lovely Bones was an awesome read. Have to agree with the others Jodie!

    ReplyDelete